Everything is Different…

46441809_10217511117274678_400689048210898944_o

Our baby girls Hayden 5, Hollyn 1

 

4 Years. It has been 4 years and 1 month since I last blogged. 4 very life changing years…

We have had two more children in that time. Giving us 4 daughters and 3 sons. We enrolled our curlies into a Christian school for the first time. We have officially left our 20’s and are now in our roaring thirties. YIKES!! We have moved to both ends of Arizona in that time. From the Valley (That’s Phoenix for my non-Arizona followers) to Sahuarita (just south of Tucson) back to the Valley. Now we have finally landed in our current home in Northern Az. HOLBROOK! A place I swore I would NEVER return to. A place that originally brought me more heartache than joy. I first moved to Holbrook my sophomore year of high school so my parents could “save enough money for us to return to the valley”, only to learn of their imminent divorce. My grandfathers passing happened while living here, and he was being cared for there, in the valley. He was the man who showed me true love consistently my entire childhood. My grandmother left me in Holbrook for the lush hills of Texas because she could not handle living in the place where she had the most memories of my grandfather (My heart broke completely that day). This is the place that took me away from my home which I loved with every fiber of my being (the Valley). Holbrook is the place where Levi and I both felt the Lord calling us back to for the past 7 of the 10 years we were in the valley. Yet we ignored that calling, and like Jonah in the belly of a fish, we were swallowed up in turmoil and spit out into the desolate and feeble comfort of this tiny, wild, and western town. A place that stirred up more heartache as I drove the streets remembering my childhood summers visiting my grandparents. Remembering their old homes and the fun times had between those walls. To just two months after returning here, finding out that my sweet, precious, big mama, had gone home to be with the LORD. Heartache brought full circle…
How do I live here LORD?  Why am I here again?

Two questions that I cried out constantly as I seemingly tried to deal with all that was going on. The Lord quickly began to unfold and reveal His plan for us here in this tiny heart filled town…

He brought us here with purpose. To welcome our 7th child into the world. To open up our first interior and graphic design studio, showroom, and home decor store. To serve HIM and His people and to be His hands and feet. He brought us here with purpose.

26678052_10215048886400445_6606911589062691238_o

The Curlies!

A little Insight to how the store came into fruition.

The Lord gave Levi a vision of a place to serve the youth in the community. A building where we would use on a multi-purpose level for both ministry and a way to make a living means. He had envisioned we could occupy a building where we would sell my refinished pieces and home decor, as well as practice Interior Design and styling out of. A place where he could focus on his graphic design career and build his clientele. Opportunities to meet our financial demand as well as provide a space for the local teens in the after-work hours of our day. Where they can come, play video games, pool, shuffleboard, ping pong. or learn new skills. You see, in Holbrook there isn’t a space where kids can feel at home and totally safe. I initially thought his vision was far-fetched but began to fall in love with the idea as the Lord revealed to me personally, the need in Holbrook. This began in August of 2017 and the Lord was stirring more and more in our hearts, the need He called us to provide for. Come January 2018, he provided a place and in April, a few months later, we were open for business! In the fall of the same year we were blessed to see the back of our building being occupied with 20 – 30 teens hanging out weekly. –More on that in a future blog. We just celebrated our 1 year anniversary of being in business and just won Business of the Year from our Chamber of Commerce. We’ve been called back into the realm of homeschooling and will begin that journey this coming fall. We are at peace and grateful that the Lord has brought us home.

In closing, our hearts are content with what the Lord has called us to do. On the days where homesickness tries to consume us, we are quickly reminded of what a loving a tight-knit community we have been placed in. A place where the body of believers all truly work together as one. A place where many of  the people work so hard to promote togetherness, community and are all striving to better the place we call home.

I am happy to see the amazing and wonderful beauty God has made out of what was once ashes.

My blog will be singing a different tune from here on out, because I am a different woman walking a different path, with so much to share with all of you.

Until next time,

go in love my friends!

Tany

58377445_10218686153369846_5442271954046287872_n

Tafoya Party of 9!

8 thoughts on “Everything is Different…

  1. Beautiful and priceless!
    So grateful to have met you and looking forward to working with you here in the near future!! 🤗

Leave a comment