Project Nursery part I: the dresser

Hey Dolls,

If you follow me on Facebook then you would already know I have embarked on the remodeling of baby curlies nursery. I plan to bring you all along with me as we put her nursery together piece by piece and to share fun DIY’s with all of you. For the next few weeks be on the look out for fun, fresh, ideas, for your sweet little ones space. I hope these next few blogs inspire you to step outside of the box of mainstream retail and allow you to create a unique and beautiful space for your little ones.

This week it was all about, (what I think is one of the more important pieces of any nursery), and that is the dresser/changing table. For the theme of her nursery we are doing a Provencal french, shabby chic design and I was on the hunt to find the perfect dresser, at a decent price, that I could then re-finish into a perfect, french piece. After months and months of hunting for just that, I finally found one at a yard sale a sweet friend was having and got an amazing deal for it. At $40 we scored a beautiful early 1900’s solid oak dresser that was in excellent condition. It had belonged to his grandmother and for the era it was from you can definitely tell she had amazing taste in furniture. I bet her home was absolutely beautiful! It indeed had the beauty of some old antique aging. Which made it perfect for this project.

IMG_5189

As many of you know I am in love with all things Annie Sloan and used her amazing paints and waxes on this project. I finished her dresser in Annie’s “Paris Grey” and then distressed and waxed it with her “clear, soft wax”. The entire process took me 2 1/2 hours, after doing 2 coats of paint and 3 coats of wax on top and one coat on the remaining areas, it was complete.

IMG_5192IMG_5193

 

 

 

 

 

It turned out absolutely beautiful and set the tone for the rest of the pieces and aspects to be set in place in her nursery. We have already been using it as her changing table and just love the look and feel it gives her nursery.

IMG_5197

IMG_5196

Thank you all for stopping by and I will see you back here next week as we get into the crib and all that project entails. =)

Until next time,

XOXO,

Tany

2 thoughts on “Project Nursery part I: the dresser

Leave a Reply

