Cherish the moment

“This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

1278390_10201856771845826_267592625_n

Hey there Dolls,

We are still pregnant! Can you believe it? After all of the preterm labor hubbub, bed rest and niphedipine nonsense, this little one has decided that not only is he or she staying put, but we just may go the whole 40 weeks. Although I am rooting for RIGHT NOW, I will not rush my little sweetie out. After all, this just may be the very last time I ever carry a child in my womb again and I want to cherish every precious moment we have together.

Too often we try and rush the process of life, instead of rejoicing and living in the moment GOD has us in. This pregnancy has taught me to cherish every moment God has blessed me with. I am enjoying my children in each stage they’re in, and yes even those horrific days where I have to clean up the poop or break up the fights. I am reminded that this is only a season and one day these little ones will be men and women leading their own lives and raising their own families. I will no longer have little ones in my home. This pregnancy has been one roller coaster of a ride but I know one thing is for sure, it is one unforgettable pregnancy and this little curly will have stories straight from the womb to the cradle.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”

-Eleanor Roosevelt

It is so easy to get distracted by the concept of “more, more, more” that to live a down-to-Earth life would come off as un-American and we would not be living up to the roles of endless consumers.  We can easily over indulge on things like our cellphones, social media, television and so much more. We over indulge on these things and forget to live our lives, neglecting precious moments with our husbands and children. Sometimes forgetting how to connect with our loved ones on a more intimate level, like meeting for coffee with your mom or calling your grandmother on the phone. Everything around us is so rushed and so unreal that we lose a real sense of reality and fail daily at growing healthy, loving relationships with those around us.
I am a social media queen (in some aspects) and has over indulged in all that social media has to offer. After now deciding that there is nothing, not one thing more important in this life than my relationship with God, my husband, children and those around me. By me spending mindless hours online, I have robbed myself and my family from those precious opportunities to create beautiful memories with my loved ones and fulfill my calling as a wife and mother.

So for the next 30 days I will be on a social media fast – Now I will not be completely offline but what this fast will mean is there are set times during the day that I will be online for checking e-mails, FB messages, or even posting an update or two (after all we are still waiting for baby to arrive) and finally updating all you MMM readers out there. My goal is to limit my time online each day to no more than 45 mins to an hour and that is it for the entire day. Leaving me plenty of time to enjoy the fullness of what God has for me and letting go of all the superficial glitz that social media has. This will be amazing and is long overdue and I am excited to see how the Lord is going to work in my life through this. If any of you should choose to join me, which I encourage you to do, please leave me a comment and I will be in prayer for you through this 30 day fast, and I hope you will do the same for me.

I am so excited for this little change happening in my life and the timing couldn’t be more perfect with the near arrival of our 5th child.

Until Next week

XOXO

Tany
1240403_10201856895848926_1091967306_n1081650_10201856771685822_878801664_n-2

2 thoughts on “Cherish the moment

  1. Thank you for this challenge. I will be joining you. I actually deleted Candy Crush from my ipad because I realized it was robbing me of time I should be spending with my family and my Lord. I have 3 girls, ages 6,4, and 1 and just found out we have another one on the way. Time goes by so fast and I don’t want to waste time in idleness. Thanks again for your blog and your encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

