1147720_10201705037332558_1625710890_o

” Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all you that hope in the LORD.” Psalms 31:24

Hey there Dolls,

3 weeks have passed and finally a blog update! The Tafoya household has experienced a series of unfortunate events the past few weeks, and my focus needed to be on my family and I had to let my blog be for a short while.

It started with a silly fall that caused me to end up in the hospital with a total bruised pelvic area and several nights of percocet. Thankfully the baby is A-OK and I am feeling much better now. Not even 2 weeks following my fall, our little guy Avery woke up in the middle of the night, screaming in excruciating pain, holding his side, and could not be consoled. So as any parent would do, daddy Tafoya rushed him to the local E.R. who later, were leaning towards appendicitis.

How could my little guy who was just climbing on top of everything, and peeing on our TV be so sick? We were so afraid for our little curly and couldn’t wrap our heads around how a 2 year old could have something like that going on inside.  That hospital was not equipped for pediatric care, so we had to take him to a children’s hospital which very quickly ruled out appendicitis and diagnosed him with a virus. We were relieved. In comparing the two, we’d take the virus over a surgery any day. Things were looking up as he started to feel better. Then the first hospital we visited, gave us a phone call, informing us that the blood cultures taken were growing bacteria and we needed to get him back into a pediatric E.R. asap. So that we did. After more blood tests and cultures, PRAISE THE LORD he was all clear. It was just a contaminent in the blood that caused the bacteria to grow, but not a blood infection as the doctor had stated. Once again we could breathe. Image

Now I must admit in the midst of all of this I began to loose my strength and did not know which direction I was going. Instead of immediately going to the cross with my sons health scares, I panicked! Not my normal reaction but this time I was caught off guard and my defense was down. Thankfully the LORD quickly brought my eyes back to HIM and HIS faithfulness and sustained us with HIS peace through the entire situation.

“fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:2

 It is so important to keep our eyes on Christ and not let anything pull us to a position of doubt or worry. When we keep our eyes on Jesus we have nothing to worry about, for He knows our every need.  During such times of uncertainty, like job losses, home mortgage failures, stock market drops, recessions, droughts, floods, and sickness, Jesus is never caught off guard or caught by surprise.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

It’s as if the Lord had to shake me up a little to get my focus back where it needed to be, on Him, and for that I am grateful. He also led me to be in prayer daily for the children out there who are suffering from serious illnesses and he humbled my heart to a place of gratefulness for the many blessings we have.

There are many things we need in our family right now, such as a vehicle, furniture, and everything a new baby would require, yet none of those things matter as much as the health (both spiritually and physically) of my family. I am so grateful for the Lord for using this situation to change my heart position and focus back to Him. I get this sense of security knowing my Heavenly Father is working on me constantly, and never leaves my side.

I am still on bed rest and our littlest curly is still cooking. Still trying to come out, but is growing well. My OB prescribed me Niphedipine to stop the contractions. I go into the hospital this week for steroids to help develop the babies lungs quicker. This way if baby comes early, he or she will be able to breathe. I am grateful for this precaution and am praying that this little one stays in just 2 more weeks.

These past few weeks have been all about grace and love. Through this the Lord has freed me of so much stress and worry. He has allowed it to spill over through His Word, friends, family, and even through our neighbors, or strangers at the local grocery store. My focus has changed and I am excited about it!

Love is the secret to Life. Love God. Love your spouse. Love your family and friends, and never let pursuits or possessions become more valuable than people.

We had our sweet friend and amazing photographer, come to our home and do a maternity shoot for us… and I must say these are phenomenal. She got Isaiah to smile without a bribe and I am so blessed to finally, after 4 babies, have my very first maternity shoot. Follow the link  https://www.facebook.com/emilyjoyphotography to check out her amazing work.

Here is a tid bit from our shoot together

IMG_4144

XOXO
Tany

Whats really important?

2 thoughts on “Whats really important?

Leave a Reply

